LinkedIn Twitter Facebook
  • International Energy Forum
  • Global Energy Security Through Dialogue
  • Knowledge Generation Through Dialogue
Highlights Menu
Search Options

International Support Group

The Chair of the Executive Board is also Chair of the International Support Group (ISG) which is constituted biennially following the close of the biennial Ministerial Meeting and the establishment of the new Executive Board. The ISG meets at least once a year.

The ISG predates the IEF Secretariat and has long been the cornerstone of the agenda-crafting process for the IEF Ministerial. It is comprised of representatives from members of the Executive Board, the IEA and OPEC Secretariats and from as many Members of the Forum as are willing to participate. Other international organisations may be invited by the Chair of the Executive Board and the Secretary-General to participate in the International Support Group.

With a strong foundation of institutional memory the ISG provides the Executive Board and the Secretariat with advice on the structure and themes of the forthcoming biennial Ministerial Meeting, energy policy issues, and possible ways of improving the dialogue among energy producing, and energy consuming member States; including transit Member States; and advises and assists the Executive Board and the Secretariat in the implementation of the biennial Programme of Work.

The global nature of the ISG’s membership provides a wealth of policy advisors and senior experts to IEF. Their collective wisdom and experience informs the agenda of the IEF, improves the content of the global energy dialogue, and ensures that the IEF remains at the forefront of that dialogue.

The International Support Group (ISG) is open to all Member Countries. Currently the following countries are participating:

Algeria, Argentina, Bahrain, Belgium, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela.

The EC and Secretariats of the IEA and OPEC also participate in the ISG.